The Star Online|Malaysia 13th General Election

Malacca CM names two deputies and five new faces in his line-up

Reappointed: (From left) Datuk Latiff Tamby Chik, Datuk Abd Ghafar Atan and Datuk Md Yunos Husin. Reappointed: (From left) Datuk Latiff Tamby Chik, Datuk Abd Ghafar Atan and Datuk Md Yunos Husin.

MALACCA: Malacca's new team of executive councillors will not be allowed to slack in their duties following the implementation of a digital KPI system, says Chief Minister Datuk Wira Idris Haron.

He added that the computerised system would record their job performance automatically.

“I must warn that under-performing exco members will be shown the exit. We don't want our customers, that is the Malacca people, to be disappointed that the Barisan Nasional representatives are not doing their jobs well.

“We need to work hard to achieve an even bigger win in the next general election,” he said after attending the swearing-in ceremony of the state exco members before Malacca Governor Tun Mohd Khalil Yaakob at Dewan Seri Negeri, Ayer Keroh, here yesterday.

Eight state assemblymen, including five new faces, were sworn in. The state government had 11 exco members prior to the recent general election.

Two former exco members Datuk Norpipah Abdol and Datuk Ghazale Muhamad were made deputies to Idris to oversee a number of portfolios held by the Chief Minister.

Idris chairs the finance, land, economy, investment and industrialisation, religious affairs, heritage, youth development and tourism portfolios.

Three exco members who were reappointed were Ayer Molek state assemblyman Datuk Md Yunos Husin, who chairs the higher education, science and technology, green technology and innovations portfolio; Asahan assemblyman Datuk Abd Ghafar Atan will oversee the public works, public utilities, transport and project rehabilitation committee; while Telok Mas assemblyman Datuk Latiff Tamby Chik has been put in charge of communications, solidarity, consumerism and cooperatives committee.

The five new exco members comprising Pantai Kundor state assemblyman Datuk Ab Rahaman Ab Karim will head the health and sports development committee; the sole non-Malay representative and Gadek state assemblyman Datuk M.S. Mahadevan the private sector affairs, human resource and NGOs; Taboh Naning assemblyman Datuk Latipah Omar the women, family development and welfare portfolio; and Sungai Rambai assemblyman Datuk Hasan Abd Rahman will be in charge of agriculture and entrepreneur development.

Three-term Kuala Linggi assemblyman Datuk Ismail Othman is now the housing, local government and environment committee chairman.