The Star Online|Malaysia 13th General Election

GE13: Three ministers to defend their seats in Perak

IPOH: Three ministers will be defending their parliamentary seats despite earlier speculation that they would be contesting state constituencies.

They are Second Finance Minister Datuk Seri Ahmad Husni Hanadzlah (Tambun), Defacto Law Minister Datuk Seri Mohamed Nazri Aziz (Padang Rengas) and Defence Minister Datuk Seri Ahmad Zahid Hamidi (Bagan Datok).

In announcing the list of candidates yesterday, Perak Barisan Nasional chairman Datuk Seri Dr Zambry Abdul Kadir also revealed that he will be defending his Pangkor state seat.

At first, Dr Zambry cheekily said a “new face” will stand in Pangkor before naming himself to cheers and applause from those present at the state Umno building.

MCA candidates Datuk Lee Chee Leong, Datuk Seri Kong Cho Ha and Datuk Seri Ong Ka Chuan will also defend their respective Kampar, Lumut and Tanjung Malim parliamentary seats.

MIC vice-president Datuk S.K Devamany, the incumbent MP for Cameron Highlands, would be fielded in the Sungai Siput parliamentary seat, while PPP president Datuk Seri M. Kayveas is slotted for the Pasir Berdamar state seat.

Dr Zambry, the two-term assemblyman for Pangkor, said about 60% of the candidates for the state seats were new faces.

“The Perak Barisan list of candidates has the highest number of new faces in the country.

“We have 35 new faces out of the 59 state seats, and five new faces for the 24 parliamentary seats,” he said.

The youngest candidate in the country is Daniel Wa Wai How, 25, who will be contesting the Keranji state seat.

Other new faces include 4B Youth Movement president Muaamar Ghadafi Jamal Jamaludin, who will stand in the Parit Buntar parliamentary seat, state Mardi director Dr Zabri Abdul Wahid who will contest the Trong state seat, Kathleen Wong Mei Yin (Ipoh Timor parliamentary seat), Ceylyn Tay Wei Lung (Canning state seat), Dr Cheng Wei Yee (Ipoh Barat parliamentary seat), C. Sivarraajh (Buntong state seat) and Koh Ser Yun (Pantai Remis state seat).

Perak MCA secretary Datuk Tan Chin Meng said the Barisan candidates were the cream of the crop.

For more election stories, please visit The Star's GE13 site