The Star Online|Malaysia 13th General Election

GE13: PKR names candidates for KL seats

Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim

KUALA LUMPUR: There are no surprises in PKR's line-up of candidates in Kuala Lumpur for the GE13.

Most of the PKR incumbents in the seats here will seek re-election, announced Opposition leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim late Wednesday night during a ceramah held at the Jalan Jujur football field in Bandar Tun Razak.

With the exception of the Wangsa Maju seat previously won by Wee Choo Keong, former deputy minister from Gerakan and current PKR central committee member Tan Kee Kwong will be contesting for the seat.

Wee left the party in 2010 and has been a Barisan Nasional-friendly independent since.

"I'm very sorry about (Wee). We campaigned so hard for him to win and he deserted us," said Anwar in a ceramah in Bandar Tun Razak.

Meanwhile, those defending their seats are PKR vice-presidents Nurul Izzah Anwar (Lembah Pantai), Tian Chua (Batu) and head of the Selangor caretaker government Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim (Bandar Tun Razak).

Out of the five seats that the party contested in 2008, they managed to win four.

Anwar's chief of staff Ibrahim Yaacob lost the battle for the Setiawangsa seat in the last election to former Federal Territories minister Datuk Zulhasnan Rafique but he will be throwing his hat in the ring for the second time.

For more election stories, please visit The Star's GE13 site